West & South

MooN

Tour Pro
back in 2010 I rode west & then south to hook up with some other guys from a uk forum also living in France.

This is how it went:

Though Phil & I both live in france, me about a third of the way down from the top & east of centre (Auxerre) and Phil about a third of the way up from the bottom & west of centre (near Souillac) there's about 500km separating us by the shortest road. I didn't want to simply ride the shortest road, but the best one, so it would be nearer 600k...ish. As I work in the tourist industry, I struggle to get time off during the summer months & even at the end of season I only had 3 days so the plan was, a day down, a day round about the Dordogne & a day home.

I'm not used to doing that sort of distance in a day (getting old & knackered!) & was a little concerned about whether my back & knees would take it, hence some careful forward planning... map out, look for some wiggly bits heading in the general direction, "that looks about right", Planning done!:thumbs:

friday morning, once I'd got the animals off to school & Madame Moon off to work, I was ready to go,
DSC00224.jpg

the dead cat seat cover thing is the one I used to good effect on my jura trip the previous month. I was hoping it would allow me to spend more time in the saddle & less time hobbling around car parks wondering what the hell I'm playing at...

I took the N 151 from Auxerre to Clamecy, a great road to get you into the mood, lots of looong sweeping curves & a good surface. I followed it on from Clamecy to La charité sur Loire & on to Issodun it's just dead straight & boooooring like so many other roman roads

crossing the Loire
DSC00227.jpg

DSC00228.jpg

The main highlight of this first part of the trip was Bourges, some wonderful architecture & a superb cathedral which I didn't have time to visit
DSC00230.jpg

DSC00232.jpg