retracing my past

spenaroo

Just through the door
while i haven't done any noteworthy riding in the last few months,
just small hops when i can enjoying the recent acquisition of the vstrom.
i thought id dip my toe in and do my first ride report. around this time last year I did a trip i had wanted to do for several years since I started riding.

you see I spent the first 18 years of my life growing up in Adelaide, moving to Melbourne with family so my mum could care for her parents. since then i hadn't been back to adelaide for any reasonable time. so since i started riding at 19 Ive desired to visit on a bike.

after 4-5 years i finally found the time (and set up the bike) to do this.

here is the diary posts i put up on facebook at the time. (partly for my perants. and also i enjoyed writing them at the end of the day while eating dinner.

Day 1 - Melbourne to Apollo bay
A rather boring transport stage in the morning as I made my way through the city and into torquay. Always enjoy going over the Westgate bridge, but it was the yellow canola fields past avalon that caught my eye this time.
After a pie for lunch I saw that I had plenty of time in the day so started the great ocean road.
In truth the road doesn't really start till after the light house. And it's an absolute cracker, its a rollcoaster of sweeping bends with corners almost winding back on themselves in some points. The terrain is quite majestic, with the road constantly rolling up or down hill. Quite a feeling to roll down into a corner and start climbing again midway through it. The speed limit is reasonable. It matches my pace with only a handful of corners having the brakes applied before entry.
When stuck behind slow vehicles it gave me a chance to look off the road ahead and glance down the cliffs to the rocky outcrops and beaches below. So many little bays, could park and spend the afternoon at a beach to yourself.
Especially beautiful with the turquoise water sparkling like a jewel.